Honors & Awards

Winner, IAPP Leadership Award (2024)

Member, Academy of Arts and Sciences (2023)

MacArthur Fellow, MacArthur Foundation (2019)

Professional Activities

Advisor to the dating app, Bumble

Advisor to the video-sharing platform, Tik Tok

Founding Member, Spotify Safety Advisory Council

Faculty Senior Scholar, Miller Center on Presidential Leadership, University of Virginia

Inaugural Director, The LawTech Center, University of Virginia School of Law

Vice President, Cyber Civil Rights Initiative (CCRI)

Member,  Scholars Council of UCLA’s Center on Critical Internet Inquiry

Grant Recipient, Knight Foundation, $75,000 grant supporting project investigating sexual-privacy law’s role in empowering victims, co-led by Jonathon Penney

Technology Expert,  The Technology 202 Network, The Washington Post

Advisory Board, Reveal, Center for Investigative Reporting

Vice President and Board Member, Cyber Civil Rights Initiative

Principals Group and Board Member, Harvard-MIT AI Fund

Adviser, California Attorney General Kamala Harris’s Task Force to Combat Cyber Exploitation and Violence Against Women

Member, American Law Institute and Adviser, American Law Institute’s Principles of the Law, Data Privacy

Affiliate Fellow, Yale Information Society Project

Affiliate Scholar, Stanford Law Center on Internet and Society

Board Member, Future of Privacy Forum, Washington, D.C.

Board Member, Chair, Electronic Privacy Information Center (2017-2019)

Board Member, ADL’s Center on Technology and Society

Member, ADL Task Force on Hate Speech & Journalism
(with Steven Coll, Leon Weiseltier, Julia Ioffe, Bethany Mandel, Todd Gitlin, Patricia Cartes, and Shawn Henry)

Advisor and Member, Twitter’s Trust and Safety Council (2016 – 2022), and Advisor, Twitter (2009 – 2022)

Member, Facebook’s Nonconsensual Intimate Imagery Task Force 

Board Member, Privacy and Security Forum

Member of the Law Committee, IEEE Standards Association on the Global Initiative for Ethical Considerations in the Design of Autonomous Systems

Task Force Member, Task Force on Internet Hate of Inter-Parliamentary Coalition Against Anti-Semitism

Advisor to technology companies, federal and state lawmakers, and non-profit organizations on cyber harassment, free speech, and privacy issues.

Google Fellow, Privacy for Policymakers (2013, 2015)

Advisory Board, Without My Consent

Advisory Board, IAPP Privacy Bar

Advisory Board, SurvJustice

Advisory Board, ADA Initiative

Advisory Board, Teach Privacy

Advisory Board, The Future of Privacy Forum

Program Committee Member, Privacy Law Scholars Conference

Academic/Grant Reviewer: Oxford University Press, Yale University Press, MIT Press, Cambridge University Press, Journal of Empirical Studies, and Open Society Institute

Chairperson, AALS Section on Defamation and Privacy (2009)

Advisory Board, SSRN Journal on Information Privacy Law
sponsored by GWU Law School and Berkeley Center for Law & Technology (edited by Daniel Solove and Chris Hoofnagle)